Review: Through the Woods

Title Through the Woods

By: Emily Carroll

Website: http://www.emcarroll.com/ (amazing website BTW)

Good Reads Synopsis:
‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’

Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.

These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.

Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

So what did I think??? First Impressions:

So I had heard so much about this, that I had to run out and get it. I went to three different bookstores to find it. I thought “Wow it must be good if it’s sold out everywhere.” Finally I found a copy and rushed home to read it, and when it was over I thought…..”that’s it”

So what’s going on in this book?

So this as I am sure you know is a collection of five short stories that are supposed to be super creepy.

**A note of characters: Of course there is a lot more to each of these characters, and a lot more characters in the story, however these are just the ones that I wanted to talk about **

Over all opinion:

When I read that Patrick Rothfuss was freaked out after reading this graphic novel, I couldn’t wait to read it. Then when I was done I was disappointed that I wasn’t creeped out at all! Not even a tiny bit. So while I was disappointed in the lack of creepiness, I did love the graphics. They were amazing, and made me feel much better about spending 14.00 on a graphic novel.

Then night came…. and there are creepy woods behind my house, and I was creeped out! Delightfully creeped out!

So yeah in the end it got me. This book reminds me of “Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark” by Alvin Schwartz. While the stories aren’t incredibly scary, they get in your brain and pop out when you least expect it! So after all I really did enjoy this book and I don’t regret buying it for a second.

On a side note the author of this book has an amazing web site, linked above, which contains many more stories and art. You should check it out!

GoodReads.com Star Rating                  My Star Rating

3.94                                                                 3

My Edition: Paperback about 208 pages

Published By: Margaret K. McElderry Books

ISBN: 1442465956 (ISBN13: 9781442465954)

** A lot of information about this book was taken from www.GoodReads.com If you don’t have an account sign up (it’s free) and add me as a friend (GirlGoneBookish)!**

Other places you can find me:

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/girlgonebookish

Twitter: @GirlGoneBookish

throughthewoods

Leave a Reply

